Week 1 Finalist & Mini-Critique Winner Selected

14 01 2009

After much contemplation, Leigh and I have selected the first week’s winners:

Week 1 Finalist
Week 1 Mini-Critique Winner

So, please stop by and check them out — and leave a comment. We’d love to hear your thoughts!

As usual, it was hard to select just one finalist. With so many worthy entries, I had to get really nit-picky and look for the tiniest flaw in order to narrow the choice down to just one. Which always makes me feel bad, because I wish I could choose them all!

And, speaking of choosing, I want to encourage you, once again, to read about how I pick a finalist:

So, if you haven’t yet entered, we hope you are inspired to do so. And, if you’ve already entered, we hope you will do so again!

Best,
Rachelle

Actions

Information

11 responses

14 01 2009
Kathleen MacIver

Can you tell us… do all of the entries from Dec. 1st through tonight all go up against each other for the first week?

Also, I’d love to read your “Picking a Winner” information but the link won’t work for me.

14 01 2009
Kathleen MacIver

Oops. I thought tomorrow was the 14th. I suppose it doesn’t matter now anyway!

14 01 2009
Rachelle Chase

Hi Kathleen – yes, all the entries received since December were included in the Week 1 pool.

Thanks so much for letting me know about the “Picking a Winner” link – I tested it this morning and it worked fine. Not sure what’s happening here. I’ll take a look at it tonight, when I return home.

Best,
Rachelle

15 01 2009
Sherri

Thanks for hosting this contest again, Rachelle and Leigh. I have a question about entries. The rules say: “Entrants can re-enter non-winning entries or submit new entries each week.” So, if you didn’t pick my entry a particular week, does it really stand a chance in other weeks? Or do my chances of being picked vary depending on the quality of the entries week to week? I can’t help but think that after seeing my story four times you’d automatically reject it, if you rejected it the first time, that is. Does that make sense? Just curious. Thanks!

15 01 2009
Rachelle Chase

Hi Sherri – thanks for your interest in the contest. And, that’s a very good question. The answer is yes, entries that are re-entered each week really DO have a chance. In fact, some of the finalists in past contests were entries that had been re-entered.

The unfortunate reality is that I can only choose one entry – despite the fact that there are many winning entries submitted each week. Some weeks, there are more, some weeks fewer. So, if you have a winning entry, you may win in subsequent week.

Neither Leigh nor I would reject an entry — as a finalist or a mini-critique winner — just because we’d seen it multiple times. The only way I would not consider an entry as a finalist would be if it had problems or did not qualify in some other way as a winning entry.

So, your next question probably is, “Well, Rachelle. If I keep submitting it every week and don’t win, how do I know it qualifies as a winning entry?” Unfortunately, you don’t. 😦 While Leigh and I would love to be able to give feedback on all entries, due to the time it would take, it’s just not possible. Which is why we introduced the mini-critiques. We hoped that all entrants could learn from them and apply the lessons to their own work, if applicable.

Whew! That was aa long-winded answer, wasn’t it? Did that make sense? 🙂

15 01 2009
leighmichaels

I want to second everything Rachelle said. There have been several winners which had been entered multiple times before being named a finalist. And many times I’ve heard her agonizing over making a hard choice from the potential winners.

Like Rachelle, I read all the entries each week, whether I’ve seen them before or not.

When I choose mini-critique winners, I look for broad themes — things that will be valuable to all the contest participants. There are always multiple choices, so the mini-critique, too, is often an entry which has been entered before.

I’m very pleased with the response to the contest, and I look forward to all the entries to come!

15 01 2009
Kathleen MacIver

That’s really odd! The link that it tries to load is:
https://chasethedreamcontest.wordpress.com/2007/09/18/picking-a-winner/
But on my computer, I get a 404 error.

However… the snap pop-up DOES show a page there. I realized that I can scroll down and read the text (I’m not really familiar with how snap works)… so I was able to get the information… but the link still leads to a 404 error.

The only possibility that comes to mind is if somehow the WordPress settings on that post are private, so you can see it when you’re logged in, but those of us who aren’t logged in as blog authors can’t. Can you still load that page when you log out?

15 01 2009
Kathleen MacIver

(Of course, that logged in possibility wouldn’t explain why snap can show me a preview of the page. If the page isn’t there, I wouldn’t think snap could show it! I’m clueless… and I’m wondering if the three computers at my house are the only ones that can’t load that page!)

15 01 2009
Sherri

Thanks for the thorough explanation, ladies. I appreciate it. And based on the mini critique comments this week, I’m going to slightly revise my entry and have it ready to enter next week.

And Kathleen — I can’t access that page either. A 404 greets me each time I try.

16 01 2009
Rachelle Chase

Hi Sherri – Unfortunately, since that would give you an unfair advantage over others, you cannot revise a winning mini-critique entry and re-enter it. However, you are free to enter another story. Goodness, did we forget to mention that in the rules? Sorry about that! Let me go check …

And thanks to both you and Kathleen for letting me know about that page. It works fine for me, so I don’t know what’s going on. Let me do a bit more research. Stay tuned…

16 01 2009
Rachelle Chase

Oops! Sorry, Sherri. I just realized you are not the mini-critique winner. So, scratch that comment. Feel free to re-enter your entry.

So sorry for the confusion.

I’m not awake yet. Off to get coffee…




